Gairdner Laureates Receive Prestigious Lasker Awards

The Gairdner Foundation congratulates Dennis J. Slamon (CGIA ’07) and Jacques F.A.P Miller (CGIA ’66) on receiving 2019 Lasker Awards.

Dr. Slamon (UCLA; Los Angeles, USA)  is one of three researchers receiving the 2019 Lasker~DeBakey Clinical Medical Research Award. He is recognized for his contributions to the development of targeted therapy Herceptin against advanced breast cancer expressing the Her-2/Neu oncogene resulting in more effective therapy for breast cancer.

Dr. Miller (WEHI; Melbourne, Australia) is a co-recipient of the 2019 Albert Lasker Basic Medical Research Award for his work on T-cells. Jacques Miller made fundamental contributions to our understanding of the role of the thymus in the development of normal immunological mechanisms in early life, and in their maintenance in the adult.